Too busy, almost…

OK, so last night I collected my step-son from Tampa airport (having been away with his biological father for the summer whilst I was in the UK) and he starts school on Monday and they just decided they’d stop the school-bus service, and he has an ‘orientation meeting’ later today and yada, yada, yada, so it’s a bit busy around here at the moment.  Anyway, that aside, I managed to get in about an hour’s birding yesterday and grabbed a few pictures of ‘Florida’ birds for the group.  Jo kindly, and tactfully pointed out that I was posting on the wrong site – which I was – so now I’m all signed-up and ready to go here.  So, as I scramble to get in a quick post, here are a few pictures to fill the basket.

Image

OK, so I can’t read my own writing!  That’s clearly not a Common Ground Dove, that’s the underside of a branch obscured Northern Parula!  So, I wonder how I un-insert a picture?  I now know that right-click / undo just wipes out the last text you put in, but fortunately ‘redo’ puts it back!  So, let’s try that again…

Great!  So, to recap, I’ve been in Spring Hill for almost 3 years now and this is the first CGD I’ve ever had visit my yard(s).  Perhaps it moved in whilst my family and I were away.  I hope they (for there was a pair) stay araound!  This is a revisit by the bird and a much sharper shot than my first effort (through a splotchy window).

Now, back to the hummingbirds of the Botanical Garden.  I notcied that one of the hummers is either clever, lazy, tired or weak as s/he likes to sit to feed.  The male (I think it is) is happy to hover for everything, but this one seems to prefer to perch if it can.  Here are two pictures of it doing just that….

Image

Image

So finally (as I have pairs of eyes looking at me with an “are you nearly done yet?” expression).  I also saw a family of RBWPs at the NCBGs and just missed a shot of mother feeding juvenile.  Actually, I didn’t miss the shot, my camera just decided to have a ‘moment of meditation’ as I pressed the shutter, but it was made by hobgoblins so I’m used to its recalcitrance!  Anyway, here they are, having just exchanged a yummy grub….

Image

That’s all for now folks.

Comments are closed.