mixed bag

I see!  OK, well, I’ll whip up something European ‘later’ then.

For this afternoon, I’ll just carry on with my ‘doves and friends from the neighbourhood’ theme…

So, I’d better upload some pics from my camera to my HD.  Fortunately for you readers, it’ll take but a moment!

Done!  So, after the rain, the kitchen-window feeder became very busy.  I had a chickadee, squirrel, carolina wren, squirrel, bluejay, squirrel, female cardinal, squirrel and three tufted titmice!  Oh, and a squirrel!  In the front yard, just as I’d read “hope your ground doves return” I looked out to see them right there under the window!  Moments later I grabbed my camera and they’d been replaced by two mourning doves (in exactly the same spot) which was a bit weird, but then I guess that’s where the seed was, so maybe it wasn’t weird.  It’s just that had someone said “the ground doves are back” I’d have walked over to the window and said “no, they’re regular mournings”.  Actually, as I was taking pictures of the wren, within one click of the shutter, the wren was swapped out for a cardinal.  It was like a magic trick.  One second (or more like 1/50th of a second) there was a wren sitting there, then ‘piff’ it had magically been transformed into a cardie.  There wasn’t even any motion blur.

So, after that, a flock (or more like ‘a pack’) of itinerant white ibis came sashaying down the street and I went outside to play “Ibis Bowling”.  This is game I invented where you ball-up little pieces of bread and stand at the top of the concrete sloped path to my front-door, and then roll them down the path (through a rack of 10 ibis) and watch them trying to judge bread accelerating through their midst!  I guess as they’re used to their lunch being subterrainian in nature, they’re not especially adept at calculating 32 ft per second, per second and this means I often get a strike as it passes by each one of them!  I haven’t yet figured out how to pick up a spare.

Anyway, here are some pictures from this afternoon, including the moment I managed to capture all three titmice on the feeder at once.  I couldn’t easily focus past the window seam (without scaring them away) so I had to stand on a pile of library books to get the shot.  Next time I go to the library I need to get “Ulysses” again, and when the librarian asks “didn’t you read this already?” I’ll say “Yes, I did, but it has 686 pages and is just the right height to photograph my feeder”.  My library membership may be reviewed.

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Comments are closed.