Harry, Harrier, Harriest.

So, here are two mediocre pictures of a magnificent Northern Harrier that was ‘casing the joint’ this afternoon at WWP.  It flushed out some Grackles and some Red-winged Blackbirds from the reedbeds at the Heronry.  I didn’t see it catch anything.  Unfortunately it was quite a long way away and on the other side of a medium sized ‘lake’ so I couldn’t get any closer.  The crow (earlier) I think was a juvenile as it seemed unconcerned by my approach.  I kept making fish-crow noises “uh-ohh’ and it seemed to take that as a confirmation that I meant it no harm.  In the end, I got to within two paces of it before it reluctantly hopped up onto a higher branch.  I also saw my first ‘Great Purple Hairstreak (butterfly) today, in my back yard.  I was watering some plants and noticed it right in front of me.  It vanished before I could a sharp-focus shot, but it was enough for a positive ID.  If anyone knows what plant it’s sitting on, that ould be great…

Image

Image

Image 

I think I need a new watering-can?!

Image

Comments are closed.