Some photos

DaLo, thanks for the compliment, but I only used a very cool Zentangle in another way.  You did the work and were the idea man.  We have some artistic people here  and I didn’t know you were one of them.  These Thrushes are so confusing.  Last spring, I had to ask the person who runs Pinellasbirds.com to help me.  It turned out to be a Gray Cheeked Thrush who didn’t look precisely like the guides.  It was the color of the bill.  I’ve always heard that if you are going to find a frog on your rain barrel, it should be a high-quality frog.

Jenn, re your experience of finding an unexpected bird in a photo.  Here’s one of mine.  I was so focused on the Orchard Oriole, I didn’t notice what she was looking at or how obvious it was when the Oriole was facing me. 

Jo, waiting for more of Labrador and Newfoundland’s birds.  lol.  I know you are busy getting back into the “Home Mode.” 

The very beautiful Spoonbill that came to the pond across the street almost every day from March until May was crippled.  It was sad to see him have to fly for short distances because he couldn’t walk around the pond.  Lately, a Spoonbill who looks to be a juvenile has visited a run-off pond a stone’s throw from here.  I recognized its markings.  Today, I noticed it is missing one of its feet.  There are  birds like the Spoonbill, Herons etc, bigger birds who seem to be in the same areas regularly who seem to be recognizable.  It may sound crazy but even though the birds are wildlife, I just feel a bit of a kinship to one I see often and I feel bad when I see a bird like the YCNH without a foot or the Spoonbills, one crippled, the other missing a foot. -SLB 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments are closed.