The Fab Four Colors….

Since SLB and DaLo have a special color for their posts, I chose this color. Jenn will have to pick one of the other colors, if she so chooses.  Once I learn what color belongs to which Fab Four member, it will be easy to know who’s posting without having to look further….although I’ve been in the habit of signing my posts.

Anyway, while Terry is watching the debate on TV, I decided to sign on and read all the posts that I missed…and there have been many.  I never cease to be amazed at the number of birds seen there.  Here in Nova Scotia, the same birds are seen in the yard on a daily basis, so it was really great to go to Newfoundland and Labrador to see some birds that I had never seen before, although I only added seven to my life list…..Puffin, Northern Gannet, American Pipit, Common Raven, Boreal Chickadee, Whimbrel, Gray Jay   Perhaps if we had gone there in late May or early June, the total would have been higher, and I might have even seen an iceberg or two.  I do want to go back there next year, purposely to see an iceberg….as long as the seas are calm for the 4-6 hour ferry trip.

We’ve been back home a week and it’s been one thing after the other, with little time to process pictures from our trip.  I’ve also been trying to catch up with my eBird posting, which is time consuming since we rarely stayed in one place for more than a day, so each location, involves typing in the state/province, country, location….and sometimes the location comes up in the middle of the Atlantic….time consuming, but I set out to do a daily post this year to eBird….next year, maybe not as often.

With gorgeous weather for the past several days, I’ve spent a lot of time outdoors and the yard has been alive with birds, including immature Sharp-shinned Hawks making practice runs at my Blue Jays, Hairy Woodpeckers and even squirrels and chipmunks.  The Jays squawk and the Woodpeckers make a frantic rattling call as the Hawk dives at them, coming within inches and I noticed a few times that it actually touched the Jays.  This has gone on now for the past several days and, of course, I wanted a picture of the Hawk…not easy since they are very skittish.

Image

Sharp-shinned Hawk

 

This one is a lousy shot, but I thought it was interesting to see the bird just as it took off after a Jay….those talons are meant for killing, so we were glad the birds were only making practice runs.  Neither of us wants to see any of our birds killed by any Hawk.

Image

Sharp-shinned Hawk

 

I took pictures of a female Hairy WP, the one harassed by the Sharpie, and after processing the pictures, I was surprised to see that the tail feather tips were golden yellow…I had never seen this before and it’s not mentioned in Sibley’s.  This particular bird also appeared to have a tuft like a Downy, but that might have been just the angle at which the picture was taken.  Now I’ll have to notice if other Hairy WPs have the same coloration on their tails…not something you see too often, since they use their tails as props to support them.  By the way, SLB, you’ll notice that the Hairy has no bars on its tail.

Image

Hairy Woodpecker

Image

Hairy Woodpecker

 

Okay….rather than comment on all the posts that I missed, may I just say that I enjoyed reading all of them as well as seeing all the pictures….and I would love to see the Pipevine Swallowtail caterpillar, DaLo, so you have my vote to post it.  

It’s good to be back….I do have a couple of birds to post on the WBIT? site…..not tonight, though…..and by the way, SLB, I prefer using “New Post” from the Admin. bar because it allows me to pop out the post so I can read any of the other posts and comment accordingly….I don’t think you can do that with the one you use….if you can, I haven’t taken the time to find out.   More tomorrow…..Jo

Comments are closed.