In regard to those HBs & FCs…..

DaLo:  My next guess would be a Least Flycatcher rather than the Acadian, mainly because the Acadian has a “distinct peak on rear crown” according to Sibley’s….plus the bird might be a youngster, as those wing bars seem to have a brownish tint to them.  Like you, even if the bird sang its little heart out, it wouldn’t make any difference to be since I don’t know their songs, although I can, I believe, ID the Great-crested Flycatcher, since I heard it all winter long this past year in our yard. The Vermillion, of course, is easily identified without having to hear it.  It’s also rarely seen in that area of the country, so it would be considered for a rare bird alert listing, as I’m sure there are others who would love to see it, especially since you have a picture to prove the sighting.

I enjoyed looking at your HB charts for the past three seasons, so thanks for doing that.  Evidently you have seen Rufous and Ruby-throated HBs in Jan. and Feb., but I was surprised that there were no sightings for either June or July.  Those two months are when the Ruby-throated are at their peak in our yard here.  I’m not surprised to see a lot of sightings for you in the month of August, since that’s when they are on the move and migrating.  There are still reports from Brdbrain members of them passing through areas of Florida recently.  I’m guessing these are the youngsters, as they are the last to leave the area where they were born.  Most of the reports mention the weather, which is a big factor with birds as they migrate….one member posted that there were hundreds of Warblers and other migrants passing through his area yesterday…..makes me wish I was there rather than here, especially since the temperature today is barely 50!!  BRRR!

Comments are closed.