Catching up (again) and lots of visitors

Ok… it only took an hour, but I caught up. 🙂  No sense going back a whole week or two to comment on everything I wanted to, but there are a few things…  (and I loved all of the photos and updates!)

DaLo, it was amazing to see the crane migration; thanks for that link.  The caterpillar photo was excellent and interesting.  I, too, enjoy photographing some of the other creatures I come across while birding.  Dragonflies are my favorite!  As for the flycatcher… so amazingly lucky for you!!  Thanks for sharing the photo!  That’s why I went out of my way to get the best possible photos of my Shiny Cowbird this year (and last).  I figured, for one that is not supposed to be this far north, I had better have some proof!  😉

Jo, I loved the picture of the Sharpie in flight.  It had a certain impressionist-type quality to it and it was a spectacular catch!  None of my “in-flight” photos have come out, personally.  As soon as I learn how to use this camera properly, perhaps I can get one of these birds in motion. 😀  My Blue Jays here are always imitating the Red-tailed and Red-shouldered Hawks.  One tricked me again just this past weekend, sending me for the camera before I noticed him jumping through the pine tree, laughing. 😀

SLB, sorry to hear about your day at the beach.  I haven’t forgotten the card before, although I have forgotten to dump it prior to birding.  I don’t take it out often… apparent in my slowness to post my photos here :?, but like Jo, the battery has become my nemesis… or maybe my lack of memory to charge it is the nemesis.  When I had the other camera, I always had spare AA batteries with me charged and ready to go.  This camera has a “special battery” (which I swore I would never deal with), so I am definitely going to have to invest in a second one so that it does not die in the middle of birding again.

And a quick update from me:

Yesterday was an active one in my yard (which is good because sitting at the computer writing cover letters all day = much less time for birding in my favorite spots lately).  I am not sure what happened, but out of nowhere I had two birds that are presumably lifers eating from my “garden” next to one another… will post for ID help today on WBIT.  Then there was also a curious Palmie on the back porch and a Yellow-throated Warbler on the front porch.  This season, it seems that YTW are the ones that I am seeing the most of in this area.  Every year seems to bring an abundance of a different species.  🙂  As a point of interest, DaLo, I heard my first catbird of the season a day or two after you posted that you had, so I definitely believe they were here early, but I think migration began super early, as Jo mentioned some time back.

And before I sign off for now, a couple photos…

An odd (and gorgeous) Cardinal…

Image

Cardinal

A little treat with all the rain…

Image

N. Mockingbird

 

Image

N. Mockingbird

 

Cutest Palmie, ever!

Image

Palm Warbler

Image

Palm Warbler

And there’s a couple more to post later, but I have to run.  I am working my weekly volunteer shift at the wildlife hospital today.  I will talk to you all in a bit. 🙂

Comments are closed.