Duck and (Cover my As*)

So, I was in Pasco this afternoon, near Dade City.  I was visiting with friends (originally of my wife’s) and they said “So, did you hear about the ducks?”  So, 10 minutes later I was down by the pond with my camera looking for these “rare ducks from Mexico with 13 chicks”.  I walked around the pond (mini lake) for 50 minutes and just as I was about to leave, out popped two adult BBW ducks with 13 chicks!  So, that was that mystery solved and my 191st Florida species of the year thank you very much!  Then, three large, dark ducks flew by.  I’m still not sure what they were (each looked different) but I thought maybe they were… well, what do you think?  I also saw a nice L Shrike at the pond (species 76 of the month) so it was a good day.  So, all eyes seem to be on me this week (did someone say “Vermilion”?)  So, I have to be very careful about duck IDs too!  OK, here come the pictures…

Image

Loggerhead Shrike

 

Image

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

 

These are THREE ducks (together).

The pictures are Duck-1, Duck-2, Ducks 2 & 3, and Duck-1 again.

Image

Duck

 

Image

Duck

 

Image

Duck

 

Image

Duck

 

Comments are closed.