Duck Stamps….

It’s always nice to read your posts, Jenn, but I think we all understand how you’re pressed for time….I too hope your job search is fruitful.  I enjoyed your close-up Cardinal pix….not sure why you thought he was odd….he has quite a sparkle in his eye!  How nice that you have Yellow-throated Warblers in the yard….SLB, Terry and I saw one for the first time ever at Ft.De Soto this past spring, but I never did get a decent picture of it.  Maybe this coming year.  There are reports of many different birds being seen in all different areas of Florida…including DaLo’s Vermilion Flycatcher. 

The camera you have is supposed to be excellent for birding.  Using a new camera takes time and patience, and trying to take a bird in flight can be a real challenge, but I’m sure you’ll be able to do that.  I really loved the two pictures with the rainbow as the background….absolutely beautiful composition…..well done!

Okay, the reason for my subject line….I just finished reading an article about ways in which we birders can help birds…..by buying shade-grown coffee is always on the list, but buying a yearly Duck Stamp should be what all birders do.  “Ninety-eight cents of every dollar from the sale of these stamps goes to the purchase of wetlands.  One third of America’s threatened species make their home in wetlands”  You don’t have to be a hunter to buy one, but as a birder, I think it’s a good idea to buy one since the sale helps to provide habitat for wildlife.  The stamp costs $15 and can be purchased from the Post Office.  It should be worn proudly when you’re out birding, and we should encourage other birders to buy one. Here’s a link with more information

http://www.fws.gov/duckstamps/Info/Stamps/stampinfo.htm#benefit

As soon as we get to the US, I will purchase one and will continue to do so on a yearly basis…besides, the artwork on each stamp is truly beautiful.

DaLo, your birding totals are truly remarkable…..congrats.  My tally for the year is 181 and that’s a combo of the US and Canada.  Florida truly is a birder’s paradise and I can hardly wait to get back there.

Comments are closed.