Lake Pasadena trip

We went to Lake Pasadena today.  Anhingas breed there and there are always so many there.  There is a Mangrove in the center of the lake where they breed.  I have seen Great Blue Herons collecting nesting materials and flying them to the Mangrove, so I assume they breed there.  I have seen Cormorants, Snowy Egrets, and Great Egrets in the Mangrove in the spring, but my camera, binoculars and eyes can’t tell for sure if they are breeding.  I suspect they might be.

About 40 Ibis arrived in a flock.  I never saw so many Muscovy Ducks as live there year round, and they also breed there.  A flock of 45 Crows flew over.  I saw several Turtles sunning themselves as well as swimming.  There are also 3 Pekin Ducks there.  A couple of years ago there were 6.  The Wood Stork seemed to be influenced by being among so very many Anhingas.

The most exciting find was a Pied-billed Grebe.  I don’t think, from what I have read, that Pied-billed Grebes are in my area (Pinellas County) except when the migrants arrive from the North.  The birds might be migrants or from the cadre of year-round residents in Florida.  Every book I have says they are year-round residents in the state.  It is at times like this that I bemoan not having my photos from the computer that crashed.  Of course, it is not a record for the county, but I did see a lot last year and the photos would tell me when.  Just out of curiosity what are the experiences of the rest of the group?  In my experiences, Pied-billed Grebes are happiest far from shore, and I would not get too close to the shore to shoot because I did not want to disturb the birds that were there.  That’s a long way of saying, please click on the thumbnails to enlarge, especially to see how cute that little bird is.  -SLB

Comments are closed.