With this ring, I thee track

I went to Clearwater Beach today (I usually skip that and go to Caladesi).  Whilst there I saw 100+ Laughing Gulls, 100+ Sandwich Terns (2x Forster’s, 13x Royals) 25+ Sanderlings, a smattering of other species (5x Pelicans, 2x Cormorants, 1x Willet, 3x Turnstones, etc) and 6 Red Knots.  I noticed the Knots had “leg-rings” (I think you call them “leg bands” here) but also they had (what I learned through an hour’s Googling to be called) “leg flags with codes”.  Here are a couple of pictures of the bands / flags.  Apparantly, the numbers, letters, colours and leg positions (upper, lower, left & right) mean they can be individually identified.  The alphanumeric codes are clearly visible as “TV6” and “89X”.  The green colour signifies they were banded in the USA (in NJ if I understand correctly).

Image

 

Image

Comments are closed.