SLB’S SBDS

OK, I had another (lengthy) look and I agree with Short-billed Dowitcher.  It’s a bird I almost never see, so I had to use my books, but that half olive / half slate-grey bill (and the size) seems to rule out everything else.  Oh, and the heavy flank barring.  And Jenn, those are Marbled Godwits you mentioned.  Again, I rarely see them, but I did spot a handful on the Courtney Campbell Causeway a week ago (one half is Pinellas, the other Hillsborough).  Such a lovely cinnamon colour!

Not much to say about my uneventful birding today.  I did see a red-winged blackbird seemingly feeding a male brown-headed cowbird.  The cowbirds, starlings and (more) rwbbs arrived yesterday.  The guy from Orlando was checking the flock in case a stray yellow-headed was in there, but (having checked his eBird post tonight) he didn’t see any.  He did find a flicker (it reads) but I didn’t (though he went to a more wooded area than I did so that seems a more suitable location for that species).  I saw 33 species and he saw almost exactly the same 31 species in pretty much the same numbers, so it was nice to get ‘confirmation of my work’.

Image

Comments are closed.