900!

Jo:  I can’t wait to have a crack at any shorebird IDs (from Fort De Soto) even if they do give me a headache.  Some people like sudoku, I like bird puzzles.  I’m sure I’ve encountered Dunlins many times, so I think Sibley’s publishers misread something!  As for the comments from ‘Tex’, he ought to have a chat with Houston Control as those digital images from the ISS, Shuttle, Hubble, Voyager, Opportunity, and 100 other satellites’ and space-probes’ cameras would be a real pain the ass to collect, develop and reload!  I still have a phone with a rotary dial, but as soon as they invented non-film cameras I was delighted!

The rwbb was very gently and lovingly touching the beak of the cowbird for 25-30 seconds, it certainly wasn’t pecking at it in an aggressive manner.  I’ve no idea what the story of that was, but it did look like they were familiar with each other.

Group:  So, today I hit my 900th eBird checklist (world / all-time) and my 605th this year (world).  Just 100 to go and I hit the big 1,000!  Sadly, nothing new came along today (despite my peering into all the corners) but it was still a good day for birding, with 40 species.  Highlights were…  2 Ospreys (mobbing an adult Bald Eagle), a Barred Owl calling, my first Yellow-rumped Warbler of the fall season, and three Savannah Sparrow (new for fall).  I also saw a Marsh Wren, House Wren and Carolina Wren on the same day which was fun.

Here’s the latest (amusing) picture from the migrating (ultralight) Whooping Cranes…

Image

Whooping Crane

 

Comments are closed.