I also had technical issues, but Jo’s trick seems to work!

 

So, having now “worked the problem” (as they say in Apollo 13) I can paste in today’s earlier blog…

OK, so my birding day went like this…

1)  Saw my first Yellow-bellied Sapsucker of the ‘season’

(which takes my October tally to 99 species)

2)  Got this cool email from a birding friend…

“Another Peregrine was reported in WWP last night (Wed 17th) “on a dead snag on the east side of the road, maybe 1/4 to 1/2 mile up.”

Have you heard about the great numbers of Peregrines migrating through the Keys? Here’s a report someone sent to Birdbrains:

On Oct. 10, 2012, at Curry Hammock State Park (Monroe County), site of the Florida Keys Hawkwatch (FKH), a world record was set for single-day Peregrine Falcon count at 651.

Today, Oct. 16, 2012, at FKH, a new world record was set for the season total for fall migration for the Peregrine Falcon, breaking the previous record of 3219 set at a Costa Rica site.  We finished the day at 3242 and that record will be added to until the close of the watch Nov. 13.”

I’m taking an early night tonight as I feel a bit “off colour”, so I’ll catch up with all of you humans (and canines) tomorrow.  I’m going to Pinellas again, so hopefully I’ll get to see some extra goodies!  🙂

Comments are closed.