Aside

Say’s You!

OK, so I’m thinking this is a “Say’s Phoebe”, but eBird didn’t even have it in the County list under “rare” (I had to click “Add Species”).  Now that either means I’m way off with my ID, or this is something even more exciting than the Vermilion Flycatcher.  It does seem weird (or perhaps even more plausible) that I’d see two unusual “flycatchers” in as many days!  Anyway, it’s a lovely looking bird, so even if it turns out to be a mucky sparrow, I’m happy to see it.

I said that was my highlight of the day, but earlier I looked out of my living-room window and there were three species of dove, all happily coexisting (and eating my millet scatterings).  I had a Mourning Dove, a Eurasian Collared Dove and two iddy-biddy Common Ground Doves (plus a Cardinal and a Jay) all hanging out together peacefully.  My wife asked me if I wanted her to try to reach for my camera, but I didn’t want to scare any of them away, so you’ll have to make do with a ‘mental’ picture instead.  I also saw 190 Great Egrets around sunset!

Our planned trip to Pinellas got scrubbed.  We’re probably going to go on Sunday now, but the birding part of the day will have to get shelved.  No matter, I went last week.  Besides, had we gone today, I wouldn’t have seen the (unconfirmed) Say’s Phoebe.  Oh!  And I also saw 21 House Finches today in Publix car-park.  Not sure if you all have them around, but they haven’t reached my yard-feeders yet.  Right, now I can read what everyone else has posted…

Image

Comments are closed.