Aside

One Born Every Minute…

One Born Every Minute…

So, a few days ago I met a guy (at WWP) called Graham.  I found his checklist on eBird and was interested in how his sightings might differ from mine.  However (despite having a tendency to round up or down to zero-ending numbers) he seemed to list most of the birds I did and in similar numbers.  He did however spot a bird that I didn’t find – a Northern Flicker.  I wondered if he’d made an error or if I needed to look more carefully?  A few days later, a well-known birder of some skill listed a Flicker again at the same location.  Again, I didn’t find it.  However, I did see a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker on both dates – no-one else did.  After ensuring I hadn’t made some school-boy error and muddled the two, I looked at eBird’s Range Maps and saw that no-one has EVER reported a YBSS in October at (or anywhere near) WWP.  I thought this was odd as I didn’t get any flagging when I submitted it, and the YBSS box was there ready to select.  I even got a picture of it today to make sure I wasn’t going crazy.  So then I looked at “My Data” and found that I had seen the YBSS last year on – wait for it – October 21st & 22nd (my sighting this year was October 18th & 23rd) so he’s back on almost exactly the same day as last year!  So, here’s the picture…

Image 

Whilst at the preserve, I ran into a chap called Scott (who takes amazing pictures).  He’s not so much into birds, just great photography (which often happens to be of birds).  His big thing is getting shots of Bald Eagles in flight.  He told me he’d got a nice shot recently of an Eagle with a fish.  He sent it to me tonight.  I thought you all might like to see it.  I added the copyright text…

Image

Comments are closed.