Owls & Snakes

So I was at Starkey Park today and I went for a 5 mile bike ride along the trail.  I heard a Barred Owl and saw a Great Horned Owl with a snake!  I also then saw a snake, which I believe is my first pygmy rattler!  Finally!  I also (for those following Jenn’s story of the “mystery flock” on WBIT?) saw a small flock of (female) red-winged blackbirds land in a pine-tree and feed on the cones!  And talking of “blackbirds” (or American Robins as they’re known here) I’m also pretty sure I heard my first Robin call of the year.  Actually, I think I heard one yesterday at WWP but only for a second, but this evening I heard it 4 or 5 time – no sighting yet though.  Here are a few picture highlights…

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

So, that’s Great Horned Owl, Little Blue Heron, Wood Stork & Pygmy Rattlesnake?

Comments are closed.