Few pics (that I elected to show you)!

Here are a few pictures from today.  Mostly I’ve been looking at maps of the USA coloured in red or blue, but I did managed to get some birding done.  The third picture shows three finches.  A female and and a male House Finch and what looks exactly like a Purple Finch (but isn’t).  The reason I include it is to illustrate how easy it can be to make a wrong ID!  The finch on the left looks very different from the House Finches on the right, but I know them all to be House Finches and no Purples were present.  It all makes sense when I tell you that there was a very small puddle in the dip (unseen) and the birds were taking turns at dipping themselves in it and that the one on the left was wet whilst the other two were still dry!  Who said ‘the camera never lies’ or that ‘birds of a feather, stick together’?!

Image

Image

Image

Comments are closed.