WWII Carrier Pigeon and other such things…

First off, I just read the best article of the year:

http://www.foxnews.com/science/2012/11/06/coded-wwii-message-found-on-pigeon-remains/?test=latestnews

I figured you all would appreciate it also; especially DaLo (assuming you haven’t already heard/read about this… which you may very well have). 🙂

I agree wholeheartedly with you all about the dislike of changing the clocks… I think it is Arizona (?) that doesn’t observe it… and if I’m not mistaken, there is one more place in the US that skips it as well.  Being that it is an outdated procedure, I wish we would leave the clocks as-is year-round.  I’m always afraid that I will change them on the wrong day and be running an hour late as a result on that first weekend. 😕

I have to second Jo’s comment and say that the rattler is beautiful, DaLo!  I have run across small rattlers only twice while birding.  One of them was right in the center of the trail and, being that they move so quickly, I decided that was a good time for me to turn around. 😀  I have not seen nearly as many of the species you have on your list, but I can say I have been bitten by one snake, one time… she was a small kingsnake and I had been administering antibiotics to her for two weeks via injection.  On the second to last day of meds, she got me, and I can’t say that I blamed her.

The Yellow-throated Warbler is a spectacular catch!  They are very difficult little birds to get a great shot of; congrats!  Also, thanks for posting the swallow. 

Jo, the duck photos are, in my opinion, adorable. 

Your birds’ behaviour is interesting.  I have little doubt that they can sense impending weather.  When we consider the mechanisms that drive their migration routes, it is not a far stretch to think that a similar mechanism could drive their preparation for a hard winter (vs. a mild one). 

I liked the kinglet photos, too… I guess those guys would be hard to miss with that bright yellow crown! 🙂  I am not sure if I have seen any kinglet.  I mean, I posted a photo of a bird to WBIT that may have been a RCK, but it was just not a good enough capture to determine for sure.  Ah well; next time.

I do hope your test results are good ones!

SLB, I kind of think of swallows as “perpetual motion” too.  😀  I very rarely see one sit still and they fly so fast, it is difficult to get a good enough shot for positive ID many times. 

Comments are closed.