Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Ok… so I have not commanded a great deal of computer time in the last few days, and before I knew it I was halfway through this week… with the holiday coming up fast!  I processed these photos this weekend and wanted to share some with you all though.  So here are a few of the (probably) 200-300 that I took of this beautiful new favorite!

Image

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher streeetch

 

Image

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher lunch

 

Image

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher bird and berries

 

Image

scissor-tailed-flycatcher

 

I have never put so much time, effort, and money into finding a single bird, so when I found her (?), it was very exciting.  Once we had located one another, there were times throughout the hike where I wasn’t sure who was following whom.  Every time I would move on, she would pop up nearby, sometimes hunting the grasshoppers on the path, sometimes preening, sometimes just watching.  It was a surreal experience that I will never forget.

This is the Scissor-tailed Flycatcher that has been hanging out near the Shiloh boat ramp (?) just over the Volusia County border; at the north end of the MINWR, by the way.

(Hopefully these images aren’t too large.  I shrunk them via PhotoShop and minimized them on the post, but they did take a moment to appear after I published the post.  Let me know if you can’t view them.)

Comments are closed.