The search

I went looking for the bird in the first photo.   If I know anything about birders, I know we often go to great lengths to find Lifers and/or specific birds.  This is that kind of story.  I spent hours traveling to the place I expected to find the bird,  walked about a quarter of a mile on uneven terrain, then stood in the driveway of Mosquito Control, not far from the Pinellas County Dump.  I peered through a six foot chain link fence at a large retention pond.  It was late afternoon, and I was standing when and where I had heard was the best spot to find these birds which do not ordinarily breed in Florida.  Three have made this spot their home for a few years and have bred there.  They are often interspersed among Yellowlegs, I was told.  I was very anxious to see the birds I was searching for.  The results of my birding expedition are shown in the second photo.

The bird I was hoping to find

The bird I was hoping to find

What I found at the pond next to Mosquito Control

What I found at the pond next to Mosquito Control

Comment

